NCS Palmetto Fellows Scholarship Recipients

The South Carolina Commission for Higher Education recognizes outstanding academic achievement each year with scholarship awards. The most prestigious of these is the Palmetto Fellows Scholarship.

The Palmetto Fellows Scholarship is a merit-based program that was established in 1988. The annual award amount for the freshman year is up to $6,700. The award amount for the sophomore, junior and senior years is up to $7,500 per year. Assuming continued eligibility, Palmetto Fellows may receive scholarship funding for a maximum of eight consecutive terms of full-time study toward the first bachelor’s degree or ten consecutive terms of full-time study toward the first approved five-year bachelor’s degree at an eligible four-year institution in South Carolina.

Students are eligible to apply if they meet one of the following sets of academic requirements:

  1. Score at least 1200 on the SAT (27 on the ACT) by the November national test administration, earn a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA on the SC Uniform Grading Policy (SC UGP) at the end of the junior year, and rank in the top six percent of the class at the end of either the sophomore or the junior year;
  2. Score at least 1400 on the SAT (32 on the ACT)1 by the November national test administration and earn a minimum 4.00 cumulative GPA2 on the SC UGP at the end of the junior year.

For a school the size of New Covenant, we are allowed to nominate the students ranked first and second instead of the top 6%.

This year, we are blessed and thankful to have four of our nine graduates awarded the Palmetto Fellows Scholarship!  Congratulations to:

  • Chase Harmon
  • Rebecca Lamb
  • Anna Milford
  • Adam Mortenson

We were able to have four because Adam has been ranked first, both Rebecca and Anna have been ranked second in their class over the last three years, and Chase qualified with the alternative requirements of a 4.0 and a 1400 or above on the SAT! WOW!

Praise the Lord for His graciousness and loving kindness to our students!